Coco, our rescued Australian Kelpie, gets her 15 minutes of fame w/HuffPost Live

CocoDogParkbench

Coco and I were on HuffPost Live’s The Pet Show today! Coco was adopted about 3 years ago, with the help (and let’s face it, begging), of my good friend Ellen Ritscher Sackett, who’s an angel on earth sent especially to help animals in need. Coco was at the Fort Worth shelter and although absolutely gorgeous (we think she’s an Australian Kelpie, the most popular of the Australian herding dogs), of adorable nature and well-behaved (except when she tries to herd me because she thinks I’m her sheeple), she had been put on immediate death row because she had mange.

Here's Coco with her mangy little face when we first got her. She had lost nearly of half the fur all over her body.
Here’s Coco with her mangy little face when we first got her. She had lost nearly of half the fur all over her body.

Mange has to be treated over time, and it’s expensive, so dogs that get it go immediately to “death row.” Like, the next day. A friend of Ellen’s brought her to Dallas that night, we met in a 7-Eleven parking lot and I brought Cocokisses (her official name) home to live with me, my husband and our schnauzer/Corgi mix, Tesla, in our 800-square-foot downtown loft. With no patio. Which means a lot of dog-walking, and Jim does most of it. Jim’s a doggy’s best daddy ever.

And ... here she is trying to herd me because I was about to put shoes on. She knows that means I might be leaving the house.
And … here Coco is trying to herd me because I was about to put shoes on. She knows that means I might be leaving the house, which she considers impolite.

HuffPost Live asked for shelter-pet stories, I managed to tell Coco’s in 140 characters or less (most of my previous editors are now either choking or laughing their heads off at that) and I was chosen as “Pawrent of the Week.” Probably my one of my proudest accomplishments, along with being on Prairie Home Companion in November 2013 and holding my own with Garrison Keillor for a 6-minute unscripted (i.e., I had NO idea what he would be asking me) interview at the Fair Park Music Hall. With 6 million live listeners. No pressure.

Here’s the link to the HuffPost interview (it should be on YouTube eventually): http://live.huffingtonpost.com/r/segment/the-pet-show-with-nancy-redd-black-dog-syndrome-marijuana-for-pets-dog-flu/552ed3eefe3444499c00023 (The show was about many things, not just marijuana for pets and the trouble black animals have being adopted at shelters, and it was all fascinating.)

And just because he felt SO left out, here’s Tesla, Coco’s brother, the schnorgi (half schnauzer, half corgi mix, who’s also a rescue pet, from a hoarding situation).

Tesla-Coco's brother

Please, please, if you’re looking for an animal companion, start with shelters and rescue groups. We found our wonderful Tesla through Petfinder.

Follow me on Facebook at JoyDickinsonTipping, and on Twitter and Instagram at @joytipping.

One thought on “Coco, our rescued Australian Kelpie, gets her 15 minutes of fame w/HuffPost Live

  1. Excellent! How awesome that Coco has gained the stellar placement in the cosmos she so fervently deserves! Thank heaven she ended up with you and Jim (and Tesla) as her guardians!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

